Danger Spectre Next Generation

Spectre Next Generation Vulnerabilities: 8 new critical security flaws soon to be made public

Spectre Next Generation Vulnerabilities: 8 new critical security flaws soon to be made public
Researchers have found eight new vulnerabilities in Intel processors related to Spectre which have received the name Spectre Next Generation. This blog is about details we know already about the new threat and what you should do now.

 

The newly discovered vulnerabilities are reported to the manufacturer, but are currently still kept secret. Hopefully the manufacturer will provide updates to fix the vulnerabilities before they are revealed, but as one of the vulnerabilities was discovered by Googles’ Project Zero team, there is a change that Google will make the details public on 7th of May, when their 90 day notice period expires.

What do we know about the vulnerabilities? And who is affected?

Intel CPUs are confirmed to be affected. Until now it is not confirmed if the ARM CPUs are also vulnerable, but it is highly likely. Research regarding AMD processors is in progress.

Intel classifies four of the vulnerabilities as "high-risk"; the danger of the other four is only rated as medium. One of the vulnerabilities supposedly enable an attacker to start his exploit code in a virtual machine (VM) and attack the host system from there - for example, the server of a cloud hoster. Or he attacks the VMs of other customers running on the same server. Passwords and secret keys for secure data transfer are highly sought-after targets on cloud systems and are acutely endangered by this vulnerability. In general the new vulnerabilities are believed to be easier to exploit, making it easier to perform attacks across system boundaries. As a result, providers of cloud services such as Amazon or Cloudflare and, of course, their customers are particularly affected.

When can we expect a patch for Spectre Next Generation?

Currently there is no patch available. Intel has not made an official statement on when patches will be available, but they are planning two patch waves: a first one should start in May; a second is scheduled for August. Microsoft is already preparing for CPU patches which are expected to appear in the form optional Windows updates.

What should system administrators do now?

When patches are made available, system administrators should prioritize multiuser and virtual environments, e.g. KVM, VMware Workstation, VMware Fusion, Windows Virtual PC, Microsoft Remote Desktop, Xen, Parallels Desktop for Mac, Oracle VM Server, Virtual Box, Parallels Workstation, VMware ESXi etc.

The concrete danger for private individuals and company PCs, however, is rather low, because there are usually other, easier-to-exploit vulnerabilities.

As with the previous Spectre patches, there is reason to believe that the patches may reduce performance and thus all the patches should to be intensively tested before a release.

Vulnerability Scans
Risk assessment
Whether Spectre, Meltdown or other threats: a VulScan provides continuous information about vulnerabilities in the infrastructure.

Danger Spectre Next Generation

Spectre Next Generation Vulnerabilities: 8 neue kritische Sicherheitslücken

Spectre Next Generation Vulnerabilities: 8 neue kritische Sicherheitslücken
Forscher haben acht neue Schwachstellen in Intel-Prozessoren gefunden und diese „Spectre Next Generation“ getauft. Dieser Blogartikel erklärt, was bereits darüber bekannt ist und was zu tun ist.

Die entdeckten Schwachstellen wurden dem Hersteller gemeldet, werden aber derzeit noch vor der Öffentlichkeit geheim gehalten. Es bleibt zu hoffen, dass der Hersteller Updates vor der Publikation zur Verfügung stellt. Da jedoch eine der Schwachstellen von Googles Projekt Zero-Team entdeckt wurde, gibt es eine wesentliche Änderung: Google wird die Details am 7. Mai veröffentlichen, wenn ihre 90-Tage-Frist abläuft.

Was wissen wir über die Schwachstellen? Wer ist betroffen?

Es wurde bestätigt, dass Intel-CPUs betroffen sind. Dass ARM-CPUs ebenfalls verwundbar sind, wurde noch nicht bestätigt, gilt aber als wahrscheinlich. Die Untersuchungen zu den AMD-Prozessoren sind im Gange.

Intel klassifiziert vier der Schwachstellen als hochriskant; die Gefahr der anderen vier wird nur als mittel eingestuft. Eine der Schwachstellen soll es einem Angreifer ermöglichen, seinen Exploit-Code in einer virtuellen Maschine (VM) zu starten und von dort aus das Hostsystem anzugreifen - zum Beispiel den Server eines Cloud-Hosters. Oder er greift die VMs anderer Kunden an, die auf demselben Server laufen. Passwörter und geheime Schlüssel für den sicheren Datentransfer sind begehrte Ziele auf Cloud-Systemen und durch diese Schwachstelle akut gefährdet. Es wird angenommen, dass die neuen Schwachstellen leichter auszunutzen sind, so dass es einfacher ist, Angriffe über Systemgrenzen hinweg durchzuführen. Dadurch sind Anbieter von Cloud-Diensten wie Amazon oder Cloudflare und natürlich deren Kunden besonders betroffen.

Wann können wir mit einem Patch für Spectre Next Generation rechnen?

Zurzeit ist kein Patch verfügbar. Intel hat keine offizielle Erklärung abgegeben, wann Patches verfügbar sein werden, aber sie planen zwei Wellen: eine erste soll im Mai beginnen; eine zweite ist für August geplant. Microsoft bereitet sich bereits auf CPU-Patches vor, die in Form von optionalen Windows-Updates erwartet werden.

Was müssen Systemadministratoren tun?

Wenn Patches verfügbar sind, sollten Systemadministratoren Mehrbenutzer- und virtuelle Umgebungen priorisieren, z.B. KVM, VMware Workstation, VMware Fusion, Windows Virtual PC, Microsoft Remote Desktop, Xen, Parallels Desktop for Mac, Oracle VM Server, Virtual Box, Parallels Workstation, VMware ESXi etc.

Die konkrete Gefahr durch Spectre Next Generation für Privatpersonen und Firmen-PCs wird eher als gering eingeschätzt, da es üblicherweise andere, leichter ausnutzbare Schwachstellen gibt.

Wie bei den vorherigen Spectre-Patches gibt es Grund zu der Annahme, dass die Patches die Performance beeinträchtigen können. Daher sollten alle Patches vor einer Veröffentlichung intensiv getestet werden.

 

Vulnerability Scans
Ein Mittel für die Risikoeinschätzung
Ob Spectre, Meltdown oder andere Gefahren. Ein VulScan hilft Schwachstellen in der Infrastruktur zu entdecken.